Sharing one of my poems

I have been encouraged by many people in my life to share my poems. So I am going to share one of my favorites. All my poems are based on or inspired by real events, real feelings and are true to who I am.

 

Huge Divide

My brain and my heart are so far apart

I know one thing to be true,

But I don’t feel it in my heart.

But this is nothing new

 

In my head I know I am God’s treasure

But in my heart I feel like trash

My brain knows I am loved by many;

But my heart…

Oh my heart

 

I have a hole in my heart

One big hole

When it is filled I will get a fresh start

And to allow God to fill that hole is my goal

 

But how do I fix this huge divide?

What do I do when my heart and brain are disconnected.

When my brain is full of love

But my heart is infected

My brain knows 2+2=4

But my heart feels 5

 

So right now I cry to you

Not because of what I think

But because of what I feel

Hopefully I can heal,

And I won’t be pushed to the brink.

But right now I know and feel my love for you

 

Hope you enjoyed it! I would love to receive feedback at tdmartin42@gmail.com. Love you all!

Leave a comment